Home Page

Meet the Governors

On behalf of the Governors of Litton Primary School, I would like to offer a warm welcome to parents, carers, children and their families. Litton Primary is an outstanding school as graded by Ofsted and the recent Church inspection.


The school ensures that each child is nurtured and supported in their academic learning, development as individuals and understanding of local and national communities. All our governors are approachable and always happy to speak and listen. We look forward to meeting you within our friendly school community.


Stephen Miller

Chair of Governors


About the Governance:

Governing bodies are the strategic decision makers and vision setters in every school. They play a vital role in ensuring the best possible education for every child by creating robust accountability for school leaders. 


The governing body has 3 core functions supported with a School Improvement Plan:


1) Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.

2) Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils and the performance management of staff. 

3) Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure the money is well spent. 


We have a Governing Body that meets 4 times each year, and 2 committees that meet every half term. The Education committee is concerned with the learning and teaching in the school, safeguarding, and special educational needs and disabilities. The Resources committee is concerned with finance, staffing, safety and the buildings and grounds of the school.

Chair of Governors

Mr Stephen Miller


Mr Mike Renger


Full Governing Body:


Foundation Governors Parent Governors Teacher Governor Local Authority Governor Associate Governor
Mike Renger Ellen Hopkins Lorraine Bullock Pauline Wood Mike Burrell
Stuart Cunningham Gordon Fuller      
Helena Dowling        
Rev Simon White        
Stephen Miller        
Gill Howland        


Governor individual responsibilities:


Mike Renger - Safe Guarding   Helena Dowling - SEN
Ellen Hopkins - Induction Governor   Stuart Cunningham - Piloting STEM
Stephen Miller - Chair of Governors   Mike Renger - Chair of Education
Pauline Wood - Chair of Resources   Mike Burrell - Health & Safety
Stuart Cunningham - GDPR Governor    


* STEM stands for Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths


Governance Structure:


Resources Committee Education Committee Headteacher Performance
Pauline Wood (Chair) Mike Renger (Chair) Gill Howland (Chair)
Ellen Hopkins Gill Howland Mike Renger
Stuart Cunningham Helena Dowling Stephen Miller
Stephen Miller Stephen Miller  


Litton School Governance

Governors' terms of appointment and meeting attendance

Name Category of Governor Dates of current term

FGB attendance


Lorraine Bullock staff 01/04/17-31/03/21 3/4
Stuart Cunningham foundation 01/02/18-31/01/22 4/4
Helena Dowling foundation 14/03/16-13/03/20 3/4
Gordon Fuller parent 01/12/19-30/11/23 1/1
Ellen Hopkins parent 14/03/16-13/03/20 3/4
Gill Howland foundation 01/09/19-31/08/23 3/4
Stephen Miller foundation 01/02/19-31/01/23 3/4
Mike Renger foundation 01/09/16-31/08/20 4/4
Simon White foundation 01/09/18-31/08/22 3/4
Pauline Wood LA 15/10/18-14/10/22 4/4


Register of Governors' business interests January 2020

Name Business interests Other educational establishments governed? Relationships with school staff?
Lorraine Bullock none none none
Stuart Cunningham none none none
Helena Dowling none none none
Gordon Fuller none none none
Bridget Hanley none none none
Ellen Hopkins E & R Country Lettings none none
Gill Howland none Thistley Hough Academy; Buxton & Leek College; University of Derby none
Stephen Miller Millerweb Ltd none none
Mike Renger Residential letting none none
Simon White none none none
Pauline Wood none none none